Low sound volume on Hi-Res Output with 32/384khz.

fndrsm
Go to solution Solved by andrewilley,

Hi newbie here.

Just using Poweramp in the last couple days. Want to ask. I play FLAC with 24bit/96kHz on Samsung Galaxy A54 + DAC Conexant 31993 attached. So on Poweramp there are two type output for USB DAC. OpenSL ES output and Hi-Res output. Btw. I use IEM KZ ZST Pro (I forgot the IEM driver specs)

When I use openSL ES output it play with OS default on 16bit/48kHz. So i tried the Hi-Res option and enabled the 32bit/384hKz option but why the volume so low and required me to maxed up the volume? The volume was normal on default OS 16bit/48kHz.

It is OS limitation or it just the way it works? (the low volume on Hi-Res)

OpenSL ES output :

1. 16bit/48kHz
  2. Resampler : SW/SoX (tried both)
  3. DVC on
  4. Dolby : On/Off (tried both)

Hi-Res output :

1. 32bit/384kHz
  2. Resampler : SW/SoX (tried both)
  3. DVC on
  4. Dolby : Off
  5. Output : Samsung UHQA PCM (i don't understand this)

Thanks for the help.

@fndrsm on some Samsung firmwares, 384 + DVC is not supported (192khz is the max for DVC), so disable DVC in this case.

It seems to be supported for OneUI 6.0, but still it may differ for a firmware variant and device (mid to high end devices have a better chance of supporting that).

@fndrsm on some Samsung firmwares, 384 + DVC is not supported (192khz is the max for DVC), so disable DVC in this case.

It seems to be supported for OneUI 6.0, but still it may differ for a firmware variant and device (mid to high end devices have a better chance of supporting that).

Samsung UHQA PCM

This is how Samsung calls their hi-res audio subsystem internally. This is unique subsystem - it's very different from Android/AOSP audio engine which they started to use around Android 7-8 and it's still in a use.

1 minute ago, maxmp said:

I see. I get it. But how about the low volume on Hi-Res. It's error or it just how the way it works? 

Thanks