Chrome casting not working

Murph

Hi,

I'm having issues chrome casting Poweramp. I can chrome cast Spotify, Radioplayer just fine. It also works with VLC for local files on the cellphone. While using Poweramp I have the 2 following issues :

1) No Chromecast icon or

2) Chromecast icon is there, if I click on it to start chrome casting it seems to connect, song seems to play for 1-2 seconds without sound then stops.

I have never used chrome cast before, so I cannot say if it's a bug of a particular Poweramp version, android related, etc.

Poweramp build# 945

• Poweramp build#945
  • Devices Pixel 6a chrome casting to a Bose Smart Soundbar 900 (with built-in Chrome Cast) I can also reproduce with a PIxel 6
  • Android 13 (stock)

I'm trying to send a log after I connect to my speaker however the chrome casting logo is gone so not sure if the log is still relevent now, will send one if I'm able to connect later.

• Replies 46
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

@Mathieu Grenier I would add that Poweramp casting works differently vs Spotify or other streaming/network radio players, as Poweramp commands Chromecast to stream from your device, while Spotify and others command Chromecast to connect to some internet server. VLC can do both, local playback is similar to Poweramp, but Poweramp uses custom Chromecast player "page" which supports non-compressed/hi-res audio.

Basically this means:

• Chromecast should be able to connect to your device. Your #2 can be caused by connection issue
    • if you have separate network for IoT and devices, appropriate firewall rules should be allowed
    • if you have firewall set on the device, appropriate inbound connections should be enabled
  • Chromecast should be able to access https://cc.powerampapp.com