Local license verification

I use Poweramp almost exclusively on Transpacific or Transatlantic flights, and start the software after the aircraft has pulled away from the gate.  For the third time I have received a message "Failed to Verify License" or words to that effect, making the software unusable for a 12 hour flight.  Why does the software keep having to verify the license?  It is absurd that the software can only be used when there is an internet connection. This is the only software that I'm aware of that requires this.  Why isn't the license resident on the hardware on which the app has been downloaded?  The app is otherwise good, but unfortunately useless.

• 2 weeks later...

I'm new to the forums, but I work as a software engineer for a company. It's extremely common for Digital Rights Management to be always on. I've never had the problem on my app, (purchased through the play store), but I can understand your frustration. 

A really horrible case of this is Sim City from EA. 

Poweramp isn't even close to that. I do disagree with always active DRM and would prefer less frequent checks if they happen. Use Wireshark capture packets maybe of the app startup, but I'm guessing it doesn't check often. I have it installed on an old phone in my car that's always on airplane mode, never connected to the internet lately, and it runs fine. 

I think you should mention the app version and where you got it from. Maybe it's specific to non play store purchases. 

Again, I'm a noob on the forum, but I want this app to be the best. 

-Paul

• 1 month later...