Poweramp Data Migration to a new phone

Akanmu

Sorry if this is a question already asked and answered. I've had and enjoyed Poweramp on my Galaxy S4 for over 3 years now. I have lots of playlists, custom EQ settings and SD 32GB of music. I just bought a new Galaxy S7 edge, installed my 32GB SD, installed Poweramp (2.0.10 build 588 full version) with no problem but I will like to have all my playlists, album art and custom EQ settings from my now old GS4 . Simple easy step by step solution will be highly appreciated as I am no techie whatsoever.

You can export the main app settings and Playlists to files (from the Poweramp Settings menu) but there isn't an easy way to do things like EQs, ratings, cover art, etc. If both of your devices are rooted, you could use something like Titanium Backup to copy the data over.

Andre

16 hours ago, andrewilley said:

You can export the main app settings and Playlists to files (from the Poweramp Settings menu) .........

Sorry but how do I do that ?.  Please give me a step by step -I'm a complete novice on tech stuff. Thanks

Akanu,

if you are not a techie then I do not think your device will be rooted. (rooted is derived from root which is the administrator in Unix/Android).

You must ensure you export all your Poweramp playlists (and Android if you have these)  into m3u8 playlists. These are simply text files which hold all the necessary information for each track. 

How to export  playlists?

Poweramp Menu > Setting > Folders and Library > Export Poweramp Playlists

How to export settings?

Poweramp Menu > Setting > (under the Other heading) Export Settings.