Individual Music-Genre Folders

GerryMac19b

Hi

Although I've been using Poweramp for several years, I'm a comparative newbie when it comes to fine-tuning the app, so I'd be grateful for help on this topic.

I am interested in several genres of music - Traditional Irish dance music, Old Time American dance music, Folk Songs, Classical Music, Pop and Jazz.

I would like to create a Library or Folder in Poweramp, on my phone and tablet, dedicated to each individual genre in order to organise my music collection as I can do in File Manager on my PC - ie, a classical album would be filed away in the 'Classical' folder and so on.

Can anyone advise me how to set this up?

Thanks in anticipation.

GerryMac

The best way to "organise" your collection is to tag your mp3 tracks. Assuming you know nothing about mp3 tagging, I will try and explain. A music track on your device contains the music information of course but in addition, it can contain additional information. For instance, it can also hold the Artist name, Composer, track title, genre, year and so on. From reading your post, properly tagging the genre will give you what you are looking for. There is no need to organise into folders as the music apps can present the tracks in a number of ways using the tags. I find that the easiest way to tag your music is to do this on a PC. I use mp3 Tag Tools but there are many programs available.

Once you have your music tagged you can create playlists which are simply collections of tracks selected using the mp3 tags. Poweramp has the functionality to create playlists using the tags. For example, in PA when you list genres, you can select one or  more genres and add to playlist. 

TheoKlink

Thanks very much for your prompt reply and suggestions.