Trouble reading micro sd card

Don Pierce
Go to solution Solved by andrewilley,

I have been using the app for several years with no issues. I use android phones and tablets. Some have 256gb internal memory others have 256gb external micro SD card. I have loaded all of my music on all of them. About 220gb in artist-album-song hierarchy.  

In a Samsung Tab A8 I switched to a 500gb micro SD drive. I transferred all music from the 256 to a 500gb drive and now Poweramp won't read the files. 

When selecting the drive to share with Poweramp I get a warning "to protect your privacy select another folder". I was able to find the album files and add them individually. Major pain with over 400 albums. 

After every five albums loaded I tested to see if files would play. All good.

I then went back to check if any album covers needed to be added. I had to add about 40 covers. All good.

I then scrolled through list to play music. I found all album files from A through E were not displayed. They were still listed in the storage files. I bit the bullet and reloaded all albums A-F. Now I'm missing G-M. Every time I add a new album I lose one down the list. What the heck is going on??? 

Sorry for the book. I wanted all info up front.

• Solution

@Don Pierce First, when using the current Android storage handling processes, you cannot select the root level of any given storage - e.g. the top level of your SD Card. This is a limitation being rolled out by Google for ALL apps, other than a few which have applied for and been authorised to have special access permissions (file explorers, backup apps, that sort of thing - but Max thinks it's unlikely a music player would be considered favourably).