Parsing multiple Genre tags

Does the Genre seperator strictly has to be a ";" without spaces? MusicBee tags multiple genres as "Hard Rock; Heavy Metal" with a space after the semi-colon, and those genres are shown in Poweramp as "Hard Rock:Heavy Metal", as a unique genre. Do I have to re-tag my files without the leading spaces? Sorry if this question is kindda stupid, I'm new to Poweramp.

They ignore whitespace. So if you use semicolon as an example, you could write your tags as "Hard Rock;Heavy Metal", "Hard Rock; Heavy Metal" or "Hard Rock ; Heavy Metal" and the song would still appear in the two categories "Hard Rock" and "Heavy Metal".

You can define your own choice of separator characters too:
image.png

Andre

@andrewilley Thank you for clearing that up. I just realised the problem is not the symbol formatting at all. It's just that MusicBee tags multiple genres in seperate TCON tags (one TCON tag for each genre). Seems like Poweramp appends each TCON tag in a file (like this: "Hard Rock:Heavy Metal") and uses that as a genre. Is there a solution to this? Or should I start a feature request thread for this?

Poweramp_multiple_genres.jpg

I didn't think PA supported reading multiple instances of the same tag in ID3 at all (it's not part of the ID3 spec, or it wasn't previously anyway) so I'm surprised you don't just see one of the genres rather than getting them all concatenated together. What happens if you try editing a file with something like TagScanner to create a single tag with semicolons (which is what PA is expecting)?

Moved this discussion to its own thread as requested.

Andre