Better sound on older phone ?!

andreidan.hd87

So I have been using poweamp for 5 years now and last year i decided to change my phone. I was just wondering, why my old phone samsung galaxy s3 neo sounds more crystal clear and powerful than my new samsung galaxy a6+. I felt the difference imediatly, played the 2 phones side by side, same songs, same pair of headphones and same equalizer settings. How come an old phone sounds better than the new one ? Is something more I could try ?

4 hours ago, andreidan.hd87 said:

So I have been using poweamp for 5 years now and last year i decided to change my phone. I was just wondering, why my old phone samsung galaxy s3 neo sounds more crystal clear and powerful than my new samsung galaxy a6+. I felt the difference imediatly, played the 2 phones side by side, same songs, same pair of headphones and same equalizer settings. How come an old phone sounds better than the new one ? Is something more I could try ?

You could compare the Poweramp settings, especially equalizer, stereox, reverb etc, then the output plugins and their settings, then advanced tweaks, DVC etc. Long press on the info bar gives the audio info, compare that too.

If the settings are identical you could try another output plugin, no DVC, increased buffer size on your new phone.

Does music played from other players also sound that different ? If you use the Audiotrack output plugin, the phone's own audio settings might be used as well. Reset those then.

15 minutes ago, andreidan.hd87 said:

I used the same equalizer settings, no other plugins, dvc on or off, even the buffer or high ress output and the same version of Poweramp. I think that it is related to  the audio chip on old phone that is more of quality than the new one.

so then other players, e.g. Samsung music  or Google Music, also sound better on the S3 ?

23 minutes ago, andreidan.hd87 said: