Hardware and/or PowerAMP Limitations?

Hello.

The very fisrt thing I've done with my new Motorola Defy is to install the trial version of Poweramp. I am new to Android, too.

At first the difference with the Motorola player is so astonishing I couldn't believe it was the same phone. Now I've had some hours to play music and I've found something not so astonishing... but I suppose I'll have to live with. In one word, I've found sound distortion. I write this post to ask for help understanding how this program works, how android works, and how it all relates to the Motorola Defy.

Please let me explain what's in my mind :)

My previous phone was a low-end Nokia X-Series (5310). A music oriented phone wich, it seems, had a dedicated chip for sound processing. I frankly admit I don't know what this means or how it affects the output. The Nokia sounded quite good to my ears, almost as good as my old iRiver player.

When I played the first song in the Motorola Defy I almost cry :) The sound coming from my earphones (Sennheiser, various models) was low, flat... it was awful. I tried the system effects' EQ hoping for some improvement... and what I got was... even more awful.

Then I installed Poweramp and I was instantly happy. I adjusted the preamp, EQ, etc... and I got a lot more volume, a powerful bass, high frequencise could be heard at last... so yes, that was the word, I was happy. The sound, though slightly lower, was even better than my previous Nokia 5310.