Battery life issue

lifter

Ok, first of all, I should admit that I'm a completely noob when it comes to Android and indeed smart phones in general. But I was hoping someone wouldn't mind giving me advice as to whether my full version of Poweramp could be somehow affecting the rate of battery drain. Here's the story in a nutshell:

Just bought a Samsung Galaxy S2 about three weeks ago. Everything was going swell with the battery life of the phone--I could usually get 2 to 2.5 days out of it, because I use it sparingly and keep Wi-Fi and GPS off when not using it.

So, I charged the phone up to full last night, took it out of its socket at 11 pm, put it on my desk, don't do anything with it. Wake up this morning around 9 am and it doesn't turn on. Over the night, it drained all 100% of the battery without doing anything. In the past, over the night it would lose only 5-7% or so. I checked the usage analysis to see what was guilty of using the battery, and it was Android OS with 86% of the usage. In a way, this makes sense as what else could have drained the phone? But why would it all of a sudden consume 100% of the battery over night while the phone was more or less idle?

Of course, the question to ask here is always "What changed on the phone? Did I buy any new apps or change any settings?" Well, I did spend $5 on the non-trial version of Poweramp yesterday and also had to check the box, "run non-Market apps." It is possible that the Poweramp app (or "patch," I don't know what to call it) that allows the trial version to run in the the full version could be messing up the power consumption somehow or causing the Android OS to consume lots of power?