Beginner's guide to save/backup playlists to PC or wherever else.

Rexnord
Go to solution Solved by andrewilley,

Hi folks, I'm fairly new to Poweramp and it must be said much more of a fan of music than I am computers, tech etc.

I've good a good few playlists that I'm building up and would hate to lose them & need to start again. I've got a LOT of music!

I've been searching on here for information on how to back them up or save them to something outside the phone such as a PC, USB stick etc so they may be transferred to a new phone should mine be lost or damaged.   I've found a few threads on exporting playlists and making them M3u8 files but to be honest I'm just not understanding it, for starters I don't know what an M3u8 file is!

If there's a beginners guide to this a link to it would be great, I've looked through FAQ and found help for a couple other things but not for this.

I do understand a playlist isn't the song files themselves but just a list of the tracks.

Do I connect my phone to the PC then use it to search for the playlist on the phone? Do I need to do the export thing first do the playlist is visible to the PC? 

If this sounds like I'm hopelessly clueless then there could be a straightforward explanation for that.....     But I have managed to rip a lot of music from CDs into Flac on the PC, convert them to mp3 & load them onto my phone.  I've used the PC to edit & rename erroneous & duplicate music files in the phone.

If it matters my phone is nothing fancy, Motorola G7 power on Android 10 with an SD card that music files are on & my PC is I think Windows 10.

Thanks for any help.

An M3U8 file is simply a Playlist file. It is nothing more than a simple text list of all the song files that are meant to be contained within that Playlist. The format is something like this (assuming your music is stored in a folder called My Music on an SD Card called D0D8-84ED )

#EXTM3U