Loading my files

waxwepa

I am new to Poweramp which i bought last year (v2) because I had read so many favourable comments. Last year I tried to scan my music folder (spotify) but it did not work: in my 40 GB of music files it found only 5 or 6 files and randomly played one or two, then it would stop. So when I saw there was a v3 alpha to test I jumped on the occasion. This time it found 269 songs, but it only plays 16 of them. It does it so well that I want to understand how I am supposed to find legitimate content for the app. I pay for my music (10 $ a month) and I would like to make Poweramp my main music app, but I want the whole experience (album art, lyrics etc). Can anyone orient me in the right direction ?

Is your Spotify content fully downloaded to your device, as non-DRM MP3 files? Poweramp cannot play music directly from the cloud, it can only scan and play only non-encrypted files on the local device.

Also, I assume your local music storage folders are enabled (ticked) for scanning in Poweramp Settings > Folders and Library > Music Folders ?

Andre

Yes, my folders were ticked and are local (on the SD card) and Poweramp's scanner did find 269 of them (there are a lot more). That's what I can't figure out. Why does it not find more and why does it skip (it's giving me a "too many files skipped" error msg).

Usually that means either the files or the SD Card are corrupt or not readable for some reason. So these are regular, not copy-protected, MP3 files, all properly tagged, etc, yes? What happens if you try copying a few of them into a different location on internal device memory rather that external memory, do they scan then? If so, you could try copying everything off your card, reformat it on a PC, and then copy the contents back again. 

Andre