ID3 Tag "Disc" not recognized

ramensama

• 4 years later...

this also affects me. I have for example "Complete Mozart Symphonies", the same with Bruckner, Beethoven, Complete piano concertos, Bach Complete Organ Works, same for Buxtehude, Sweelinck, De Grigny, etc, etc.

I've maybe got twenty complete sets of works of various types by various composers on my microsd card which runs to an equivalent of maybe 200 CDs. That's a lot of music that plays in a pretty chaotically random order. It's a shame Poweramp doesn't correctly identify and order multi-CD sets and, I would expect, from a programming perspective would be a relatively easy and largely invisible bit of coding once the decision has been made to fix it. It's the sort of thing that thirty years ago when I was a desktop applications developer wouldn't take to long to do. I would expect that the correct way to process and sequence multiCD sets would be to order play from disc 1, track 1 to end then move on to disc 2, track 1 to end and so on.

For a simple fix that would require no UI changes, it would make such a welcome improvement for people who listen to CD sets.

It would much appreciated if you could squeeze it in, between meals ;)

I agree that this needs fixing. In the meantime though, either do what I do and use Folder/Filename sorting rather than tags, or renumber the track numbers so they run sequentially across the different discs in the collection. Also batch-changing the Title tags to include the disc number would fix the issue ("Complete Mozart Symphonies Disc 1", "Complete Mozart Symphonies Disc 2", etc.)

Andre